WHEN THE TABLES TURN

courtesy of wikipedia

Picture courtesy of wikipedia

Recently I was scrolling through my phone, when I came across a post on Daily Sun facebook page, it read ‘Ben 10 used muthi on me’ the victim of the culture of Ben 10, looked so dejected and helpless. Every individual who is compassionate definitely could feel pity for her. The culture of Ben10 has been tearing families apart both in Lesotho and neighbouring countries.
I definitely think one of the primary disorders of the culture is the name Ben10. The name that every cartoon lover is exposed to is not a heartbreaker or the marriage wrecker but instead a hero that moves with a miraculous watch that helps him to become man of the moment, of which kids look up to, no doubt the cartoon character is an inspiration for kids.
The cartoons had existed for almost a decade in a spotlight but come 2014 of which is nicknamed 20 for me, in 21st century lingo. Then the name is given to money hungry youth of the millennium years.
Why don’t people subject the culture to pick pocketers, instead of killing the aspiration of the children who look up to their favourite cartoon character?
English is a native language to me but as a citizen of the country that is leaving in fear of the name Ben10 culture, I therefore feel obliged to borrow one of their proverbs that says ‘Charity begins at home and it doesn’t end there’. Is this phrase really suitable for this? I think not, let me switch to my own home lingo, which I can loosely translate words like ‘Thupa e otlolloa e sa le metsi’ of which can be translated into ‘maintain and guide the child at the early age’ the motive as to live with a true man who can think straight and work for himself.
Parents strive hard to make leaders and responsible men in their children. On the other hand the so called Sugar mummies take the centre stage flashing cash to the youth in exchange for pleasure and bedroom gymnastics, they convince the youth that their company is filled with abundant pleasures and easy cash. As a result that leads to boys not thinking like men but rather as lions thinking about the next prey. Am I too hard on this?
It’s undeniable even myself I like pleasure like every man that descended from Adam. Pleasure seeking is in every man, but it shouldn’t lead a man into the mouth of the hungry lion. Men can’t help it when the button of pleasure is on; South African President Jacob Zuma was once allegedly accused of giving himself pleasure with a young girl yet he had a wife infact wives. He is not the only one, who is driven by the pleasure seeking button.
How many wives did MoshoeshoeI have? Not one but many. I believe men are born with an element of pleasure seeking in their DNA. You might wonder where I got that yet am a journalism student not a medical practitioner; remember I said I believe.
Enough about the Ben10 culture of our dear brothers, who make a leaving out of it.
‘Sexy’ is the lipstick of brothers and sisters, it is what most brothers say to sisters. The word is said as a way to manoeuvre and get into the sisters pants. ‘Am I being too vulgar? But that’s how brothers play their manipulation game.
The word is the talk of town, which I think it’s the extreme force that led to sisters dressing in sexy pants, miniskirts and twerk pants; as a response to the word or rather as an invitation to abundant compliments from the opposite sex. People ironically say compliment a woman on something and watch her overdo it.
The 21st century has witnessed a shift of African culture to western culture. Roughly out of 10 women 6 apply makeup and artificial hair, sori sisters let me use your lingo I meant to say weave. Sisters don’t go along with the commercial of Amarula of our dark skinned sister that says ‘African Original like me’ I wonder whether the difficult part is the interpretation of the sisters words or people pay much attention to her skin other than to what she says.
No doubt this is the era where tables turn for the worst.

About moratehimashinini

A journalism student, who is enrolled with Limkokwing University of Creative Technology
This entry was posted in Analysis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

